It is currently Thu 28 Mar, 2024 - 4:53 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

PostPosted: Wed 15 May, 2013 - 8:29 am 
Architect

Alrighty then... I have taken the drivers permit test at my school twice in two years.... and each time... this question arises... and I quote, "How far do you turn the wheel to perform a 90* turn?" Well... its not 90*. The test is multiple choice with A,B,C,D,E,F. So in order to guess right, I may or may not have to take the 4 more times... Maybe one of you mathmaticians can figure it out... I just thought I may ask.

Offline Profile Send private message  

PostPosted: Wed 15 May, 2013 - 3:38 pm 
Admin

If you supplied the answers given, I could probably tell you. Being a driver myself, it depends entirely on the car that you're driving. Modern cars have power steering (meaning you've got a system helping you move the steering rack in the car). Depending on how modern or feature rich the car is, this additional help depends on the speed you are travelling (turn the wheel less at low speeds, and more at high speeds, keeping control when travelling at speed).

For older cars, or models that don't feature power steering, you need to turn the wheel the exact same amount every time, but this doesn't relate to the actual turn you want to take.

Due to the 'shuffle' nature of steering a car (during practice, and the test at least), I usually shuffle the wheel three times to make a 90 degree turn around a corner, which usually equates to around 120-160 degrees of steering wheel rotation, but this was in a car with power steering.

I've driven cars with new variable power steering, old hydraulic power steering (none variable, but makes it easier), and no power steering (well, more like power steering failure on an old car, so I gained no help). In all cars is was roughly the same amount of rotation needed. From steering centre (wheels facing forward), you can usually turn the wheel 450 degrees before hitting the lock.